Historic Preservation Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Historic Preservation Commission meets the third Monday of every month at 4:30 p.m. in the Development Center, 410 East 5th Street, Loveland, CO 80537.

The Historic Preservation Commission advises the City Council on all matters related to historic preservation. The Commission reviews resources nominated for designation as either an historic landmark or district and makes recommendations to City Council. The Commission reviews and makes decisions on any application for a landmark alteration certificate. The Commission advises and assists owners of historic properties on physical and financial aspects of preservation, renovation, rehabilitation, and reuse, including nomination to the local, state or National Register of Historic Places. The Commission develops and assists in public education programs, conducts surveys of historic sites, properties, or areas, and actively pursues financial assistance and incentive programs for preservation-related programs. The Commission administers the program for awarding zero-interest loans for the rehabilitation of historic structures, and reviews and makes recommendations to City Council regarding amendments to the City of Loveland Historic Preservation Plan.

There are eight commission seats.  Members shall have demonstrated interest, competence, or knowledge in historic preservation. The Commission shall be comprised of both professionals and lay members and shall be selected, as much as possible, from the fields of history, architecture, landscape architecture, architectural history, prehistoric or historic archaeology, planning, or related disciplines such as the building trades, cultural geography, cultural anthropology, real estate, or law. One member of the Commission shall be from the Loveland Historical Society. One member shall be a high school student residing within the City who shall be under the age of twenty-one at the time of appointment and whose term of office shall be for one year coinciding with the school year and the summer months immediately subsequent to such school year; provided that such member shall be excused from meeting attendance during school breaks. Three members of the Commission shall be professionals or shall have extensive expertise in a preservation-related discipline including, but not limited to, history, architecture, planning, or archaeology. Recognizing that professionals may not be available, this requirement may be waived by City Council following a good faith effort to recruit such professionals. Other than as provided above, the term of office of each member shall be three years.

Josh McCarn, Chair Reyana Jones
Jim Cox Paula Sutton
Stacee Kersley Laurie White, Co-Chair
Jay Ward Ashleigh Knapp
David Berglund, Alternate  

Liaison contacts
John Fogle Nikki Garshelis
City Council Liaison Staff Liaison
970 962-2194 970 962-2346


 MARCH     (NO MEETING)         JULY               NOVEMBER
 APRIL                                                             AUGUST                                                       DECEMBER(NO MEETING)


JANUARY(NO MEETING)                             MAY

Meeting minutes PRIOR TO 2019 are available upon request. To request a copy, please click here to email us.


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer